You are now in the main content area

Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship in Canadian Freshwater Policy

Geoffrey F. Bruce was a distinguished Canadian, dedicated public servant and diplomat who devoted his career to advancing multilateral cooperation in pursuit of environmental protection and sustainable development practices. Geoffrey was passionate about the stewardship of Canadian water resources.

Erika v. C. Bruce created the Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship to support the next generation of freshwater policy researchers, increase excellence in related public policy research and ensure the sustainability of Canada's freshwater resources.

The Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship is designed to generate research recommendations that shape public policy related to freshwater resources in Canada. Research projects should be rooted in the social sciences and contribute to interdisciplinary analysis and discussion of freshwater governance and policy in Canada.

PDF fileOverview of the fellowship

Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship in Canadian Freshwater Policy website

$25,000 annually in fellowships to fund up to two (2) graduate projects in Canadian water policy

Fellowships may be held for up to two (2) years

September 30, annually.

Examples of eligible areas of research include (but are not limited to):

  • aspects of freshwater as a political, economic or strategic resource
  • transboundary water governance
  • water quality/quantity
  • water security
  • water export/sale
  • water privatization
  • sustainable municipal/industrial water use
  • watershed governance
  • water law and legal analysis
  • water investment and business
  • water equity and justice
  • Indigenous water governance
  • comparative/international lessons
  • innovative water policies/management

Projects of an interdisciplinary and applied nature are welcome, although those with a predominantly science focus will be excluded.

Interested applicants should submit an application package by September 30 including:

  • Resumé/CV
  • Transcripts
  • Statement of interest
  • Two (2) letters of reference

All application documents can be submitted to:

Dr. Carolyn Johns
Chair, Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship
Selection Committee
Toronto Metropolitan University
350 Victoria Street
Toronto, ON M5B 2K3

Recipient profiles


Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship recipients Joseph Aladekoyi (left) and Yena Bassone-Quashie (right)


Donor Erika v. C. Bruce (centre) congratulates Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship recipients Lana Marcy (left) and Kristin Palilionis (right)


Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship recipients Miranda Black (left) and Andre Setoodeh (right)


Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship recipients Caroline John (left) and Edward (Evan) Millar (right)


Donor Erika v. C. Bruce (centre) congratulates the inaugural recipients of the Geoffrey F. Bruce Fellowship in Canadian Freshwater Policy Katherine Minich (left) and Edgar Tovilla (right)