You are now in the main content area

History of Graduate Studies at TMU

Dr. Maurice Yeates

The School of Graduate Studies was officially launched in 1998, with programs being developed since the granting of university status in 1993. The first programs were master’s and PhD programs in Communication and Culture and the Master of Spatial Analysis, followed shortly by the MASc in Environmental Applied Science and Management.

The Yeates School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (YSGPS), as it is known today, is named in honour of Dr. Maurice Yeates, who served as dean from 2002 to 2010. During his tenure, the school grew from eight programs and 100 students in 2002, to 36 programs and more than 2,000 students in 2010.

Prior to joining the university, Dr. Yeates served as chair and later executive director of the Ontario Council of Graduate Studies at the Council of Ontario Universities, and as dean of graduate studies and research at Queen’s University. He was also honoured for his scholarship and public service with an appointment as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

In 2010, Dr. Yeates was named dean emeritus in recognition of his leadership and commitment to the university. He continues to hold the position of distinguished researcher at the Centre for the Study of Commercial Activity in the Ted Rogers School of Management.

The expansion of graduate education at TMU that began under Dr. Yeates’ leadership continues into the present day. New programs include Data Science and Analytics, Child and Youth Care, Criminology and Social Justice, Health Administration in Community Care, Master of Engineering Innovation and Entrepreneurship, and Urban Health.