You are now in the main content area

2016-17 Gold Medal Recipients

The Toronto Metropolitan University Gold Medal is the University's highest honour, awarded to students with outstanding academic achievement combined with outstanding involvement with the University, their profession, and/or the community.

Faculty of Arts

Madelaine Ley, Philosophy MA

During her degree, Ley maintained a high GPA while earning a SSHRC scholarship, serving as interim director of Boarding Homes Ministry, co-founding a chapter of Minorities and Philosophy, attending conferences and participating in internationally renowned programs such as Yale University’s Sherwin B. Nuland Summer Institute in Bioethics.

Faculty of Communication & Design

Eliot Wright, Documentary Media MFA

In addition to achieving the highest GPA in his graduating class, Wright served as co-chair of the annual DocNow film festival, mentored fourth-year photography students and curated the annual Chang School Photography Exhibition. Based on his work, the City of Toronto Archives invited Wright to curate an exhibition of early 20thcentury and contemporary images of Dupont Street to illustrate its historical complexity. 

Faculty of Community Services

Nicole Ineese-Nash, Early Childhood Studies MA

Ineese-Nash excelled as a research assistant, published in scholarly journals, presented at academic conferences, served as president of the ECS Graduate Course Union and volunteered in the community. An Oji-Cree woman and band member of Constance Lake First Nation, Ineese-Nash shared her experiences as an Indigenous woman with the the university community so others could learn from her story. For her outstanding achievements, Ineese-Nash also received a Board of Governors Leadership Award and Medal.

Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science

Afshin Rahimi, Aerospace Engineering PhD

Rahimi received a Vanier Scholarship, a Mitacs Accelerate Award and a university Student Centre Community Builder Award. In addition, Rahimi received the C. Ravi Ravindran Outstanding Thesis Award for his doctoral research, which focused on developing innovative fault diagnosis and prognosis for satellite actuators. He is currently employed as a data scientist at Pratt & Whitney Canada, where he is helping improve the reliability of aircraft engines.

Faculty of Science

Tracey Lackraj, Molecular Science PhD

As a result of her research on preventing E. coli outbreaks, Lackraj published three journal articles and conducted 26 conference presentations. While at TMU, she was highly involved in the Graduate Student Association, the Graduate Program Council, the Departmental Symposium Planning Committee and Women in Science at TMU. 

Interdisciplinary programs

Nelson Kimron Corion, Digital Media MDM

Corion was named among the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States’ 30 Under 30 entrepreneurs. Corion is the co-founder of I Am Grenadian, an online community for Grenada and its diaspora, developed in the university’s Transmedia Zone. An advocate for entrepreneurship, he encourages young people to create their own opportunities. 

Ted Rogers School of Management

Krysten Connely, MBA

Connely served as vice-president of communications for the MBA Students’ Association, volleyball team captain for the MBA Games and vice-president of funding for the university’s Women in Leadership Association. Connely was also a successful participant in extracurricular case competitions at the national and international levels.