You are now in the main content area

Chancellor's Award of Distinction Recipients

The Ryerson Chancellor’s Award of Distinction will be conferred on an educator recognized within the Ryerson Community as an exemplary model of life-long career commitment to teaching and learning as evidenced by significant contributions over time to advancing teaching and learning at Ryerson, by sustained educational leadership and by an outstanding and sustained record of teaching excellence.

The award recipient will receive a certificate of recognition and a one-time monetary award payment of $5,000 (subject to applicable deductions).

Key criteria: Teaching

2022 recipient

Seung Hwan (Mark) Lee

Ted Rogers School of Management

Dr. Lee strives for excellence in the classroom by creating an inclusive environment using experiential and active learning techniques. He has supported the pedagogical growth of an academic program as the Director (Retail Management, TRSM). Dr. Lee regularly contributes to higher education outlets and is the Editor for Marketing Education Review. He has secured funding to advance pedagogy and EDI initiatives. Dr. Lee is a former recipient of the YSGS Outstanding Graduate Education award. In 2019, he was granted the Distinguished Teaching award by the Society of Marketing Advances becoming only the second Canadian to receive this prestigious distinction.

Past recipients

  • Steven Gedeon
    Ted Rogers School of Management
  • Andrew Laursen
    Department of Chemistry and Biology, Faculty of Science
  • Medhat Shehata
    Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science
  • Dana Lee
    RTA School of Media, Faculty of Communication and Design


  • Janice Waddell
    Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, Faculty of Community Services