You are now in the main content area

Collaborative Research Award Recipients

The Collaborative Scholarly, Research and Creative (SRC) Award is a university-wide, annual award presented to a researcher or researchers who have demonstrated excellence in an SRC project or projects undertaken with a multidisciplinary or multi-institutional team(s). This recognition will be awarded to a researcher who has demonstrated excellence in creating and maintaining SRC collaborations with industry, universities, hospitals or professional societies to facilitate research which effect positive change in their respective field(s).

Award recipient(s) will receive a certificate of recognition and a monetary award of $2,000 as a one-time payment (subject to applicable deductions).

Key criteria: Scholarly, research and creative activity

2022 recipient

Julie James

School of Child and Youth Care, Faculty of Community Services

Julie James is an assistant professor in the School of Child and Youth Care in the Faculty of Community Services. She deploys anti-racist, gender inclusive and decolonial critical social theory frameworks to guide trans youth-led, community-based research. This research centres the voices and needs of marginalized young trans people who are Black, Indigenous and/or racialized. Her SRC activities have generated a trans youth-led model of care and services that can be applied to health care, education, legal and community services. Her research has program, practice, policy and organizational implications that can be utilized at local, national and international levels.

Past recipients

  • Ebrahim Bagheri
    Department of Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science
  • Sharareh Taghipour
    Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science
  • Frank Russo
    Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts
  • Josephine Wong
    Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, Faculty of Community Services
  • Catherine Beauchemin
    Department of Physics, Faculty of Science
  • Anatoliy Gruzd
    Global Management Studies, Ted Rogers School of Management
  • Judy Finlay
    School of Child and Youth Care, Faculty of Community Services