You are now in the main content area

Provost's Award for Teaching Excellence Recipients

The Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes TMU educators or groups of educators with outstanding teaching records, and who have made contributions to advancing teaching and learning at TMU. Nominations should focus on i) innovation in teaching, ii) inclusive teaching, or iii) experiential teaching. Up to three awards will be given out annually.

Individual recipients receive a certificate of recognition and a one-time monetary award of $2,000 (subject to applicable deductions). Group recipients receive individual certificates and a total one-time monetary award of $2,000 (subject to applicable deductions) to be shared equally among members. 

2023 recipient

Alyssa Counsell

Faculty of Arts

As a tenure-stream faculty member in the Department of Psychology at TMU, Dr. Counsell teaches required and elective graduate-level statistics for MA and PhD students. Dr. Counsell has designed new courses on advanced statistical methods; adopted EDI-informed approaches (e.g., personalized learning goals; intensive individualized feedback; “ungrading”) that motivate and empower learners from diverse backgrounds; improved accessibility through creative uses of technology; and contributed to the scholarship of teaching and learning through externally funded, collaborative research and knowledge mobilization. Dr. Counsell’s innovative pedagogy has significantly advanced teaching and learning at TMU and in the broader field of statistics education.

Past recipients

  • Kateryna Metersky
    Faculty of Community Services 
  • Karen Peesker
    Ted Rogers School of Management 
  • Erin Ziegler
    Faculty of Community Services
  • Linda Zhang
    School of Interior Design, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Louis-Etienne Dubois
    School of Creative Industries, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Elsayed Elbeshbishy
    Department of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science
  • Naomi Hamer
    Department of English, Faculty of Arts

Provost’s Experiential Teaching Award

  • Judy Finlay
    School of Child and Youth Care, Faculty of Community Services
  • Richard Lachman
    Office of the Provost and Vice-President, Academic

Provost’s Innovative Teaching Award

  • Tae Hart
    Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts

Provost’s Experiential Teaching Award

  • Linying Dong
    Information Technology Management, Ted Rogers School of Management

Provost’s Experiential Teaching Award

  • Christopher Gibbs
    School of Hospitality and Tourism Management, Ted Rogers School of Management
  • Vicki Van Wagner
    Midwifery Education Program, Faculty of Community Services

Provost’s Innovative Teaching Award

  • Marni Binder
    School of Early Childhood Studies, Faculty of Community Services