You are now in the main content area

Errol Aspevig Award for Outstanding Academic Leadership Recipients

The Errol Aspevig Award for Outstanding Academic Leadership recognizes up to two individuals who have advanced the mission of Ryerson University through outstanding academic leadership and who have contributed significantly to the enhancement of academic life at Ryerson and beyond. It may be awarded for service at the Departmental, Faculty, or University level, enhanced by service to the community and profession, where appropriate.

Award recipient(s) will receive a certificate of recognition and a monetary award of $3,000 as a one-time payment (subject to applicable deductions)

Key criteria: Leadership

2022 recipients

Christopher Gibbs

The Creative School

In addition to exceptional leadership of our School, Chris’ initiatives have demonstrably advanced Ryerson’s strategic priorities, including community building, innovation, SRC excellence, and the student experience. Specifically, the #Lights-On Recovery project, the Digital Music Management Internship program, and his EDI initiatives reflect innovation in experiential learning, significant partnership building with the broader arts community across the city and province, and an active engagement with issues of equity, community and inclusion at our school. Moreover, as a colleague, educator, and supervisor, he has demonstrated a tireless commitment to the School, deeply collaborative leadership, and enthusiastic support for positive change.     

Daphne Taras

Ted Rogers School of Management

Since 2018, Dr. Taras has served as Dean of the Ted Rogers School of Management, Canada’s largest English-speaking business school with over 12,000 students, 250 faculty members, 12 undergraduate programs, 4 graduate programs and 15 innovative research centres/labs. During her tenure, the school has transformed, and its reputation and rankings have skyrocketed. Daphne is principled, bold, compassionate, and steadfast in her commitment to students and their success. She promotes and supports the best in her colleagues and is talented at building unity across differences so inclusion and diversity blossom. We appreciate Daphne’s leadership qualities and the meaningful impacts she’s made.

Past recipients

  • Charles Falzon
    Office of the Dean, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Kathleen Pirrie-Adams
    RTA School of Media, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Carol Shepstone
    Ryerson University Library
  • Lisa Barnoff
    Office of the Dean, Faculty of Community Services
  • Marco Fiola
    Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Faculty of Arts
  • Maurice Roche
    Department of Economics, Faculty of Arts
  • Pamela Sugiman
    Office of the Dean, Faculty of Arts
  • Madeleine Lefebvre
    Office of the Chief Librarian, Library and Archives
  • Catherine Schryer
    School of Professional Communication, Faculty of Communication and Design