You are now in the main content area

Linda Grayson Administrative Leadership Award Recipients

The Linda Grayson Administrative Leadership Awards are in recognition of Linda Grayson, former Vice-President, Administration and Finance. These awards recognize two individuals (one Senior Administrator or Director and one MAC, CUPE 233 or OPSEU employee) who have demonstrated exceptional leadership through effectively managing a project, activity or team, to achieve outstanding results.

Recipients receive a certificate and a one-time monetary award of $2,000 (subject to applicable deductions).

Key criteria: Leadership; people first

2022 recipients

Howard Allen

Financial Services

Howard Allen is a true asset to the University and his team. Since September 2020, Howard oversaw the handling of approximately 76,000 incoming packages and approximately 117,000 external shipments. Howard works towards a best in class shipping and receiving department that puts people first without compromising on client safety and service. Howard’s excellent personal communication skills and wonderful positive attitude kept his team moving forward in very difficult times. Whether working with his internal team or interacting with members of the university community at all levels Howard always looks for the best outcome for any situation and exemplifies the core values of the University.

Melanie Martin-Griem

Office of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation

Melanie Martin-Griem is the gold standard for administrative leadership at the university. In addition to the organizational strength that Melanie brings to the Office of the Vice-President of Research and Innovation through academic enterprise and critical relationship-building, her contributions to university-wide initiatives shape the future of the institution. Melanie has played a critical role with many projects including the Future Skills Centre, Standing Strong Task Force, the Health Nexus and the School of Medicine. As both a formal and informal leader, her generous spirit is evident in the support she offers colleagues and peers with mentorship, guidance, materials and time.

Past recipients

  • Lindsay Hanna
    Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Glenda Mallon
    Facilities Management and Development
  • Gillian D'Agostino
    Community Safety & Security
  • John Paul Foxe
    Academic Integrity Office
  • Shawn McFadden
    Department of Chemistry and Biology, Faculty of Science
  • Jennifer MacInnis
    Office of the General Counsel and Board Secretariat
  • Dayle Levine
    Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation
  • John MacRitchie
    Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation
  • Linda Maxwell
    Office of the Provost and Vice-President, Academic
  • Sharmaine McKenzie
    Faculty of Arts
  • Mohammad Adnan Syed
    Faculty of Science
  • Philip Cox
    Custodial Services, Facilities Management and Development
  • Michael Forbes
    University Relations