You are now in the main content area

Knowledge Mobilization and Engagement Award Recipients

The Knowledge Mobilization and Engagement Award is a university-wide, annual award presented to one or more researchers who have demonstrated exceptional and outstanding effort in communicating research beyond the University and/or significant impact in shaping evidence-based policy and practice. This award recognizes the ability of the researcher(s) to facilitate conversations and collaborations with external organizations and communities, combining knowledge from different spheres of society to generate new ideas.

Award recipient(s) will receive a certificate of recognition and a monetary award of $2,000 as a one-time payment (subject to applicable deductions).

Key criteria: Scholarly, research and creative activity

2022 recipient

Erin Ziegler

Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, Faculty of Community Services

Erin Ziegler is an innovative researcher with exceptional expertise in knowledge mobilization and engagement. Focusing on access to health care for gender and sexual minority populations, her research is informed by and enacted through principles of cultural humility and health equity. Deeply committed to inclusion and access, she co-developed the Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity eLearning Toolkit with community members to improve knowledge and competence among practitioners to promote health equity and well-being of gender and sexual minority communities. In addition to the 2021 Award of Excellence and Innovation in Instructional Design from the Canadian Network for Innovation in Education, her work is recognized nationally and internationally for its impact in shaping evidence-informed inclusive practice.

Past recipients

  • Kristine Newman
    Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, Faculty of Community Services
  • Ivor Shapiro
    School of Journalism, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Patrice Dutil
    Department of Politics and Public Administration, Faculty of Arts
  • Candice Monson
    Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts
  • Marusya Bociurkiw
    RTA School of Media, Faculty of Communication and Design
  • Jennifer Lapum
    Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, Faculty of Community Services