You are now in the main content area

Ray Smith Award

About the award

For the graduating student in the newspaper stream with the highest grade point average.

Ray Smith covered everything from Lucille Ball to massacres, working for publications from the National Enquirer to the Toronto Telegram. After five years with the Enquirer (which generated a lifetime‚Äôs worth of stories), he returned to Canada via the Calgary Sun before moving east to Toronto in 1988. He was a reporter and assistant city editor at the Toronto Sun. He died in 1994.

This award was sponsored by the Toronto Sun. It has been discontinued.

Past Winners

2017 Patricia Karonous
2016 Courtney Miceli
2015 Prajakta Dhopade
2014 Leslie Walker
2013 Vidya Kauri
2012 Michelle Bitran
2011 Aleysha Haniff
2010 Denise Law
2009 Jesse McLean