You are now in the main content area

Matt Walcoff Memorial Award

Leen Blaibleh, Matt Walcoff Memorial Award recipient, and Jacqueline Thorpe.

Leen Blaibleh, 2019 Matt Walcoff Memorial Award recipient, and Jacqueline Thorpe. 

To assist a student in the first year of the MJ program who has a continuing interest in in the fields of economics and/or finance and a demonstrated commitment to journalistic integrity.

Program write up of award. For example: This scholarship courtesy of Kevin MacLean and May Chang is dedicated to the memory of Kevin’s brother, O’Tucky MacLean. A maverick artist, journalist, scriptwriter, photographer, painter and entrepreneur, O’Tucky was forever rebelling against social conventions and conventional wisdom. He believed in speaking truth to power and poking fun at himself – and at those who took themselves too seriously. For many years in Canada, England and Hollywood, O’Tucky was a scenic painter for TV and movies – performing magic with paints and glazes on sets ranging from Monthy Python to Road to Avonlea and Hollywood blockbusters like Chicago and Cinderella Man. After Tuck’s sudden death in October 2015 at age 66, his family established this award to help students handle the financial burden of venturing off on an overseas academic exchange.

How to Apply

To be eligible for this award, students must:

  • Have been accepted into the full-time master of Journalism program at Toronto Metropolitan University;
  • Have a minimum 3.67 CGPA calculated for admission from a four-year approved undergraduate university program or equivalent;
  • Submit a letter of application (up to 2 pages) outlining their related experience and education to date, and how they will apply these skills as part of an ethically-sound, professional future in journalism.

Award amount approximately $2,500. Subject to availabilty of funds.  

Past Winners

2019 Leen Blaibleh
2018 Ashley Fraser