You are now in the main content area

Loretta H. Yaskiel Scholarship

About the award

To a full-time undergraduate student in good standing who has demonstrated excellence in court reporting or writing on legal or justice issues. Estimated at $1,000.

Loretta Yaskiel already had a law degree when she began her journalism studies at Ryerson (now Toronto Met). After she graduated from Ryerson (now Toronto Met) in 1998, she returned to the practice of law. In 2008, she returned to establish a scholarship in each of the bachelor and master of journalism programs. It is tragic that she did not live to present the first awards. Yaskiel died suddenly on March 8, 2009. Friends and family have chosen to honour her memory by endowing this award so that it will continue to support students in years to come.

Past Winners

2023 Reedah Hayder
2022 Sama Nemat Allah
2021 Tashon Daley
2020 Talha Hashmani
2019 Alanna Rizza

Emma King

Kiki Cekota

2017 Declan Keogh
2016 Farnia Fekri
2015 Robert Liwanag
2014 Billey Diep
2013 Kathryn Weatherley