You are now in the main content area

John A. Honderich Bursary in Journalism

About the award

Awarded annually to a student entering or enrolled in Toronto Met’s journalism program who faces substantial financial need and is in good academic standing.

This bursary was endowed by Torstar in 2004 in recognition of John A. Honderich's distinguished service as a journalist, editor and publisher at the Toronto Star. Honderish studied at the University of Toronto and London School of Economics, and began his newspaper career in 1976, working as a reporter, bureau chief in Ottawa and Washington, deputy city editor, business editor and editorial page editor before taking over as publisher. He is currently Chair of the Board of Directors of Torstar Corp.

Past Winners

2023 Isabella Soares
2022 Sarah Grishpul
2021 Prisha Dev 
2020 Julia Lawrence
2019 Prapti Bamaniya
2018 Sarah Chew
2017 Kathryn Skelly
2016 Kayla McLaughlin
2015 Ophelie Zalcmanis-Lai
2014 Daksha Srirangan
2013 Ophelie Zalcmanis-Lai