You are now in the main content area

Joe Perlove Scholarship

About the award

To the student deemed the best journalist in the graduating year.

Joe Perlove was a Toronto Star sportswriter who covered horse racing and professional wrestling, or what he called the “rassles.” In 1967, a year after his death, Conn Smythe donated $5,000 to this award fund from his winnings at the Queen’s Plate. Sportsman E. P. Taylor contributed an additional $1,000, adding to funds raised at a special dinner. Writing in the Toronto Sun, Jim Hunt remembered Perlove as “one of the most entertaining writers ever to work in this town,” adding, “Wrestling gave him the chance to let his imagination run wild.”

Past Winners

2023 Oskar McCarson
2022 Trevor Popoff
2021 Akanksha Dhingra
2020 Sherina Harris

Maggie Macintosh

Declan Keogh

2018 Ilina Ghosh
2017 Justin Bellmore
2016 Steven Goetz
2015 Ethan Lou
2014 Mohamed Omar
2013 Vidya Kauri