You are now in the main content area

Betty Michalyshyn Memorial Scholarship

About the award

For outstanding academic achievement in cultural journalism or critical writing on the arts, as demonstrated in course work, published writing and/or broadcast material.  

Betty Michalyshyn spent most of her professional life as a publicist, convincing journalists to cover Canadian film, television and the arts. She was loved by the producers, actors and writers she promoted and the many journalists to whom she provided access, photographs and other support they needed to do their jobs. On her death in 2005, her family, friends and CTV colleagues created this endowed award to commemorate her personal and professional contribution to awareness and appreciation of Canadian culture.

Past Winners

2020 Mariyam Khaja
2019 Benjamin Hargreaves