You are now in the main content area

BTM student wins Adobe Research's Women-in-Technology Scholarship

September 06, 2022
Jacqueline Chung

A Ted Rogers School Business Technology Management student with a passion for social innovation and technology has been awarded a Women-in-Technology Scholarship by Adobe Research. 

Jacqueline Chung, a fourth-year student, has an interest in data analytics, artificial intelligence and machine learning, and says she is honoured to be one of this year's recipients of the Adobe Research Women-in-Technology Scholarship. 

To bring more gender diversity to the technology industry, Adobe Research created the Women-in-Technology Scholarship program to recognize outstanding female undergraduate and master’s students in North American universities studying computer science, computer engineering and closely related fields. Winners receive a $10,000 award, a Creative Cloud subscription membership for one year and an opportunity to interview for an internship at Adobe.

“This scholarship will alleviate the stress of funding my accommodations and will enable me to have more time to achieve a 4.0 GPA, volunteer and facilitate programs within Toronto Metropolitan University,” she explains. “This has also reduced my financial burden, allowing me to focus more on learning and motivating me to complete my degree.”

Chung is committed to Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) and social change in her community. She works to support women in STEM in overcoming gender barriers in the classroom and workplace.

“Using this scholarship, I hope to organize more diverse events on-campus through eliminating isolation, offering mentorship and conducting simple ‘interventions’ for these minority groups to eventually remove the gap in this industry,” Chung says.

“Thus, I can help others reach their goals in higher education and give back to the community once I begin my career," she adds. 

Chung has received several awards at the university in recent years relating to her advocacy and leadership in the EDI space and overall community, including a 2022 Alan Shepard Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Award and the 2021 Ted Rogers School of Management Leadership Award.