You are now in the main content area

Faculty achievements celebrated through TMU’s 2023 Scholarly, Research and Creative Activity Awards

May 10, 2023
Kerr Hall quad on the Toronto Metropolitan University campus with downtown Toronto in the background. The image has a TMU logo and reads Congratulations to the 2023 recipients of the university’s SRC Activity Awards.

Twenty researchers from across Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU) have been recognized for their scholarly, research and creative (SRC) contributions as part of TMU’s annual awards for staff and faculty. This year’s awards celebration was held on May 9, 2023.

“I’m thrilled to congratulate this year’s SRC Activity award recipients,” said Steven N. Liss, TMU’s vice-president, research and innovation. “These honours celebrate a diverse array of research excellence, highlighting the important work being done across disciplines at TMU to advance knowledge and new ideas, as well as creative and impactful solutions to real-world challenges.” 

2023 Toronto Metropolitan University SRC Activity Award recipients

Sarwan Sahota Distinguished Scholar Award

Ebrahim Bagheri, professor in the Department of Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering, for his Responsible AI Initiative and contributions to knowledge translation.

Ojelanki Ngwenyama, professor in the School of Business Management, for his internationally recognized research in the field of information systems.

Collaborative SRC Award

Michael Kolios, professor in the Department of Physics, for his research into how nanobubbles interact with ultrasound and how they can be applied in ultrasound imaging and therapy.

Early SRC Career Excellence Award

Stefania Impellizzeri, professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biology, for her work designing new micro- and nano-structures for applications in catalysis, clean energy, optical storage and bioimaging.

Dafna Sussman, professor in the Department of Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering, for her development of novel tools using clinical imaging, biomaterial synthesis, image analysis, machine learning and magnetic resonance sequence to improve maternal and fetal medical diagnostics.

Knowledge Mobilization and Engagement Award

Mandana Vahabi, professor in the Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing, for her collaborative work to develop and implement innovative interventions to mitigate health disparities, promote health equity and generate critical knowledge to advance inclusive programming and policy change.

Dean’s SRC Activity Award

The Dean’s SRC Activity Award for 2023 recognized 14 faculty members for their outstanding SRC achievements and impact on their disciplines during the previous academic year.

Professors Alexandra Fiocco and Emily van der Meulen are the recipients from the Faculty of Arts, with Samantha Biglieri and Linda Rothman recognized from The Faculty of Community Services. Professors Alagan Anpalagan, Farhad Ein-Mozaffari and Hadis Zarrin were selected for the honour by the Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science.

The Lincoln Alexander Law School’s professor Hilary Evans Cameron and The Creative School’s professors Miranda Campbell and Debashis Sinha are recognized along with professors Mehdi Kargar and Morteza Zihayat Kermani from the Ted Rogers School of Management.