You are now in the main content area

CERC Scholars of Excellence

Photo of Joseph Carins and Tariq Masood at book launch

The CERC Scholars of Excellence program invites up to four scholars each year to join the CERC Migration program for one to three months. Scholars are internationally recognized researchers who can contribute to one of the CERC’s four research streams. While working on the Toronto Metropolitan University campus, Scholars will deliver a lecture and seminar, mentor graduate students and young scholars, and contribute to conferences, workshops and new research proposals. The CERC Scholars of Excellence program brings complementary perspectives and expertise to the CERC Migration program and creates lasting collaborations through the CERC’s expanding global network.

Portrait of Naika Foroutan

Naika Foroutan

Professor of Social Science, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Co-Founder and Head of Department at the Berlin Institute on Integration and Migration (BIM), Director and Founding Board Member at the German Center for Integration and Migration (DeZIM)

Portrait of Nina Glick Schiller

Nina Glick Schiller

Emeritus Professor, University of Manchester, UK and University of New Hampshire, USA

Gioconda Herrera

Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies, Latin American Faculty of Social Sciences (FLACSO)

Daniel Hiebert

Professor Emeritus of Geography, University of British Columbia

Portrait of Thomas Lacroix

Thomas Lacroix

Director of research in geography, Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)

Mireille Paquet

Mireille Paquet

Research Chair on the Politics of Immigration, Concordia University and Scientific Director of the Équipe de recherche sur l’immigration au Québec et ailleurs

Portrait of Marcela Tapla Ladino

Marcela Tapia Ladino

Profesora Titular, Directora del Doctorado en Estudios Transfronterizos del Instituto de Estudios

Past Scholars of Excellence

Diego Acosta Arcarazo, Professor, European and Migration Law, University of Bristol

Oliver Bakewell, Reader in Migration Studies, University of Manchester

Binod Khadria, Professor and Chairperson, Zakir Husain Centre for Educational Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Gurpreet Mahajan, Former Professor, Centre for Political Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Tariq Modood, Professor and Director, Centre for the Study of Ethnicity and Citizenship, University of Bristol

Nicola Piper, Professor of International Migration and British Academy Global Professor Fellow, Queen Mary University of London

S. Irudaya Rajan, Chairman, International Institute of Migration and Development, Kerala

Pragna Rugunanan, Associate Professor of Sociology, University of Johannesburg

Joseph Teye, Associate Professor and Director, Centre for Migration Studies, University of Ghana

Brenda Yeoh, Raffles Professor and Director, Humanities and Social Science Research Office of Deputy President (Research & Technology), National University of Singapore