You are now in the main content area

Group Members

prof_alexandre_douplik

Alexandre Douplik

Head of Photonics Group
Professor, Department of Physics, Faculty of Science, Ryerson University
Scientist, iBEST, Keenan Research Centre of the LKS Knowledge Institute, St. Michael Hospital
Co-op Program Faculty Advisor, OSA Ryerson Student Chapter Faculty Advisor, SPIE Ryerson Student Chapter Faculty Advisor

Office: KHS 138
416-979-5000 x 556538
douplik@torontomu.ca

Google Scholar Citations (external link, opens in new window) , PubMed search (external link, opens in new window) iBEST (external link, opens in new window) , LinkedIn-Douplik (external link, opens in new window) , Linkedin-Biophotonics-Group (external link) Biography

Funding: Since starting at Ryerson in 2011, the funding held includes external (1,101M CAD$) and internal (494K CAD$) awards (this is only appropriated portions of shared grants)

Current members

Aditya Pandya

Aditya Pandya
Postdoctoral researcher
apandya@torontomu.ca
Project: Confocal Multimodal Raman-Fluorescence-Spectral Imaging Microscope From Scratch

and other projects

Kritika Vashishtha

Kritika Vashishtha
PhD student
kvashishtha@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Development of UVC/Blue Light Disinfection for Aircraft Cabin

Tim Burton

Timothy Burton
MASc student
timothy.burton@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Remote Cuffless Blood Preassure (BP) Monitoring

Tara Fesharakinia

Tara Fesharakinia
MSc student
tara.fesharakinia@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Non-Invasive Blood Cell Counter

Xiao Zheng

Xiao Zheng
MSc student
xiao.juan.zheng@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Optical Properties of Gold Nanoparticles and Hemoglobin in BioTissue Phantoms

Matthew Deonarine

Matthew Deonarine
MSc student
mdeonarine@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Interstitial Needle Microendoscopy (Color Image, Fluorescence, Raman): Mosquito Bite Needle Endoscopy (MBNE)

Kejd Marika

Kejd Marika
MSc student
kejd.marika@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Development of Guidance System Based on Phosphene Cutaneous Facial Electrical Stimulation for Visually impaired

Kiana Daliry

Kiana Daliry
MSc student
kdaliry@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Spatial Angle Filter (SAF) Imaging: Seeing Deeper Inside Highly Light Scattering Media: Fog or Skin

Krishtee Dyuti

Krishtee Dyuti
MSc student
dkrishtee@torontomu.ca (opens in new window) 
Thesis: Holography Interference (Hi) Imaging

Meiyun Cao

Meiyun Cao
MSc student
meiyun.cao@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Remote Stress Monitoring

Fiona Zerai

Fiona Zerai
BSc student
fzerai@torontomu.ca
Thesis: Skin Blood Capillary Monitoring Based on Spatial Angle Filter (SAF) Imaging

Faraz Sadrzadeh-Afsharazar

Faraz Sadrzadeh-Afsharazar
Leading Research Engineer
fsadrzad@torontomu.ca
Project: Precision Phosphene Control Through Cutaneous Facial Electrical Stimulation

Nuaira Mohammed

Nuaira Mohammed
Research Engineer
n36moham@torontomu.ca
Project: Interstitial Needle Microendoscopy (Color Image, Fluorescence, Raman): Mosquito Bite Needle Endoscopy (MBNE)

Karen Penaranda

Karen Penaranda
Research Volunteer
karen.penaranda@torontomu.ca
Project: Development of Guidance System Based on Phosphene Cutaneous Facial Electrical Stimulation for Visually impaired

Marcelo Diel Tanglao

Marcelo Diel Tanglao
Research Assistant
mtanglao@torontomu.ca
Project: Biooptics 3D Phantoms

Alumni

Postdocs:

  1. Gennadiy Sayko (Ryerson), 2011-2016, “Multispectral Imaging for Wound and Skin Diagnostics”, (gsaiko@torontomu.ca) (Now – VP of Innovation, Swift Medical, Toronto)
  2. Asaf Shahmoon (Bar-Ilan University, Israel), 2012-2015 (co-supervisor), “Micro-size multi-core fiber as an imaging tool for internal organ examination”, Bar-Ilan University, Israel (Now – CEO and President of Z-square, Israel))

PhD students:

  1. Aditya Pandya, 2013-2019, Co-supervised, “Surface Enhanced Raman fiber probes”, Ryerson University, (apandya@torontomu.ca). 
  2. Homa Assadi, 2012-2017, “Study of optical absorption and scattering contrast of shell encapsulated gas-core microbubbles in biotissues environment”, Ryerson University
  3. Olga Zhernovaya, “Optics of blood and glycation of blood proteins”, 2011-2016, Ryerson University, Limerick University, and Saratov University, (olga_zhernovaya@hotmail.com)  (Co-supervisor) (Currently: postdoc at Saratov University)
  4. Irina Schelkanova (Ryerson), 2011-2015, “Development of fiber sensor for real time determination of capilllary grid spatial structure and density”, Ryerson University, Canada (irina.schelkanova@torontomu.ca) (Currently – Senior Researcher at ITMO, Russia)
  5. Martin Hohmann (FAU-Ryerson), “Hyperspectral & Fluorescence Imaging Diagnostics & Guidance for the Surgery of Stomach Cancer”, (withdrawn from Ryerson Cotutelle PhD program), 2009-2014 FAU, (Martin.Hohmann@lpt.uni-erlangen.de) (Currently – PhD student at FAU)
  6. Azhar Zam (FAU), 2007-2011, “Sensor-regulated tissue specific laser surgery”, 2007-2011 completed at SAOT, FAU, azhar.zam@unibas.ch)  (Now: Assistant Professor, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland)

MSc:

  1. Faraz Sadrzadeh-Afsharazar (Ryerson): “Precision Phosphene Control Through Cutaneous Facial Electrical Stimulation“, 2018-2020, (fsadrzad@torontomu.ca),
  2. Ruben Pinto (Ryerson): “Characterization of blood storage lesions using photoacoustic technologies”, 2014-2016, (ruben.pinto@torontomu.ca) (Currently – industrial scientist, Toronto, Canada)
  3. Dena Monjazebi (Ryerson): Interstitial Biopsy and Microsurgery Guidance in Breast Cancer ex vivo “, 2014-2016, (dena.monjazebi@torontomu.ca)  (Currently – PhD student, Ryerson University)
  4. Michael-George Dervenis (Ryerson) „Remote pulse wave velocity monitoring device “, 2016-2017 (withdrawn from the program), (mderveni@torontomu.ca)
  5. Kenneth Webster (Ryerson) “Interstitial Biopsy and Microsurgery Guidance in Breast Cancer in vivo “, 2016-2018, (withdrawn from the program) 

Research Assistants:

  1. Faraz Sadrzadeh-Afsharazar “Combined Multi-wavelength Laser Source: Optical Design”, Research Assistance, Ryerson University, 2013-present (fsadrzad@torontomu.ca)
  2. Marilyn D'Souza “Digital Interface for Combined Multi-wavelength Laser Source: Hardware and Software”, Research Assistance, Ryerson University, 2017-present (marilyn.dsouza@mail.utoronto.ca)
  3. Aman Ladak “Optical Properties of Gold Nanoparticles in highly scattering media”, 2017-present, (aman.ladak@mail.utoronto.ca)
  4. Mariana Zavala Serret, “Coating for Surface Raman Enhancement surfaces”, 2016-present, (mariana.zavalaserret@torontomu.ca)
  5. Faranak Dayyani, “1-10 micron microfluidic device”, 2017-present, (faranak.dayyani@torontomu.ca)
  6. Karan Bagga, “Blood Storage Non-invasive Diagnostics device”, 2015-present, (karan.bagga@torontomu.ca)
  7. Hamza Mahdi, “Multispectral holographic interference (HI) imaging technique to monitor pharmaceutical reactions in biotissues and biofluids”, 2017-present, (hamza.mahdi@torontomu.ca)
  8. Parnian Majd, “Remote pulse wave velocity monitoring device: software (CUDA processing) development”, 2017-present, (pmajd@torontomu.ca)
  9. Sarah Chattha, „Phantom Development for microendoscopes” (sarah.chattha@torontomu.ca)
  10. Mehali Mistry, “ Non-invasive blood cell counter”, Ryerson University, 2018-present, (mpmistry@torontomu.ca)
  11. Hamza Mahdi, “Multispectral holographic interference (HI) imaging technique to monitor pharmaceutical reactions in biotissues and biofluids”, Ryerson University, 2019-present, (hamza.mahdi@torontomu.ca)
  12. Marilyn D'Souza “Digital Interface for Combined Multi-wavelength Laser Source: Hardware and Software”, Research Assistance, University of Toronto, 2017-2018 (marilyn.dsouza@mail.utoronto.ca)
  13. Aman Ladak “Optical Properties of Gold Nanoparticles in highly scattering media”, UoT, 2017-2018,(aman.ladak@mail.utoronto.ca)
  14. Mariana Zavala Serret, “Coating for Surface Raman Enhancement surfaces”, Ryerson University, 2016-present, (mariana.zavalaserret@torontomu.ca)
  15. Faranak Dayyani, “1-10 micron microfluidic device”, Ryerson University, 2017-present, (faranak.dayyani@torontomu.ca)
  16. Karan Bagga, “Blood Storage Non-invasive Diagnostics device”, Ryerson University, 2015-present, (karan.bagga@torontomu.ca)
  17. Sharif Mansour “Combined Multi-wavelength Laser Source: Software”, Research Assistance, Ryerson University, 2016-2017, (sharif.mansour@torontomu.ca)
  18. Jonathan Bonilla, “Hyperspectral gesture and voice driven system”, 2017 (jonathan.bonilla@torontomu.ca)
  19. Nuaira Mohammed „Development of a smartphone application for blood analysis” Research Assistant, Ryerson University-Novadaq Technologies Corporation, 2014 – 2015, (n36moham@torontomu.ca)
  20. Fatma Mohammed Khedr “Combined Multi-wavelength LED Source”, Research Assistance, Ryerson University, 2015-2016 (fatma.mohamedkhedr@torontomu.ca) (
  21. Kenneth Macko “Microprocessor for pulse wave monitoring”, Research Assistance, Ryerson University, 2015-2015 (kmacko@torontomu.ca) (Currently – Engineer in Oxylight Corp.)
  22. Michael-George Dervenis “Monitoring of skin burns via mapping water concentration”, Research Assistant, Ryerson University-St. Michael Hospital, 2014 – 2015, (mderveni@torontomu.ca)
  23. Hanan Babar “Augmented Reality Educational Platform“, Research Assistant, Ryerson University, 2014 – 2015, (hannan.b.94@gmail.com)
  24. Lior Dubnitzky „Spectral imaging for endoscopic cancer disgnostics“, Research Assistant, Ryerson University, 2013 – 2014, (lior.dubnitzky@torontomu.ca)
  25. Samuel Peters “Biotissue phantoms for biooptics and optoacoustics“, Research Assistant, Ryerson University, 2013 – 2014, (samuel.peter@torontomu.ca)

Research Engineers:

  1. Sina Sartipzadeh Amirghasemi “Holography Interference (Hi) Imaging“, Research Engineer, Ryerson University, 2021, (ssartipz@torontomu.ca)

Coop Students:

  1. Andrew Park (UoWaterloo Coop Student), "Precision Phosphene Control Through Cutaneous Facial Electrical Stimulation", 2021, (andrew.park@uwaterloo.ca)
  2. Erin Grant-Allen (UoWaterloo Coop Student), "Nano-Ambience - Nanoporous Matrix For Ultra-Sensitive Collection And Detection Of Pathogens And Organic Compounds Via Raman Scattering", 2021, (egrantallen@uwaterloo.ca)
  3. Shawn Brown (UoWaterloo Coop Student), “Precision Phosphene Control Through Cutaneous Facial Electrical Stimulation“, 2020 (srbrown@uwaterloo.ca (opens in new window) )
  4. Joseph Thaliath (UoWaterloo Coop Student), “Remote cuffless blood pressure (BP) monitoring”, 2019, (joseph.shaju.thaliath@edu.uwaterloo.ca (opens in new window) )
  5. Abdulrahman Abdulghafar, (UoWaterloo Coop Student), “Microsoft Hololens Virtual Labs”, 2017 (aabdulghafar@edu.uwaterloo.ca)
  6. Rashid Mashrukh (UoWaterloo Coop Student), “Holography Interferometry”, 2016 (m24rashi@uwaterloo.ca)
  7. Rayyan Ghani (UoWaterloo Coop Student), “3D gesture and voice recognition system, 2016 (rghani03@gmail.com)
  8. Tianxing Xue, (University of Waterloo, Canada), “Remote pulse wave monitoring iPhone application”, Ryerson University, 2015-2016

International Interns: 

  1. Felix Schick, “Hemoglobin Forms transformation spectroscopy”, Charites Clinic, Berlin, Germany, 2018, (felix.schick@charite.de)
  2. Slim Tajouri, Biomedical Physics and Engineering, Montpellier University, France, Diploma Work “Experimental and theoretical analysis of properties of mixture of scatterers containing Hemoglobin”, 2016 (slim.tajouri@torontomu.ca) (Currently – licensed engineer, Paris, France)
  3. Harshad Karia, University College London (UCL), UK, “Interactive biotissue phantoms for optoacoustic tomography”, 2016-2017, (harshad.karia.13@ucl.ac.uk) (Currently – licensed pharmacist, London, UK)
  4. Wagner Von Helden Schunemann „Photosensitizer Doped Dental, Composite for Photodynamic Therapy in Dentistry“ MITACS GLOBAL Student, San-Paulo University, Brazil, (wagnerschunemann@gmail.com)

Undergrad Last Year Projects:

  1. Grace Jaklic, “Pulse Wave Velocity Imaging: Assessing Tissue Blood Flow Through Photoplethysmography”, 2019-2020, (gjaklic@torontomu.ca)
  2. Mark Persic, “Displacement Determination of Biological Samples using Digital Holographic Interferometry”, 2019-2020, (mpersic@torontomu.ca)
  3. Shayan Parmar, “Determining How To Increase Signal To Noise Ratio For Raman Spectroscopy Using Filtering Techniques And Various Optical Fibers”, 2019-2020, (shayan.parmar@torontomu.ca)
  4. Akinpelumi Olukunle, “Developing Monolayer Films Through Continuous Flow Microfluidics”, 2016-2017, (aolukunl@torontomu.ca)
  5. Aryan Safakish, “Optimization of Microsphere Monolayers in Preparing Nanostructures to enhance Surface Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy Signals”, 2016-2017, (asafakis@torontomu.ca)
  6. Farishta Sultani, “Designing a quality control test protocol for polystyrene microsphere monolayers through processing of images acquired from Surface Profilometer and Atomic Force microscopes (AFM)”, 2016-2017, (fsultani@torontomu.ca)
  7. Anna Chen, “ The Design and Optimization of Thin (100um: 2mm) Tissue Mimicking Phantoms using OCT to Verify the Layer Thickness”, 2016-2017, (anna.chen@torontomu.ca)
  8. Michael-George Dervenis „Remote pulse wave monitoring hand held device “, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2015-2016 (mderveni@torontomu.ca)
  9. Pardis Saljoughian-Esfahani „Design of multiple photon collection geometries for Raman Spectroscopy to evaluate enhanced collection efficiency for spontaneous and surface enhanced Raman spectroscopy “, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2015-2016 (pardis2.saljoughiane@torontomu.ca)
  10. Cyrus Talebpour „ Contrast enhancement in diffuse reflectance imaging system by injection of microbubble to phantom“, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2015-2016 (cyrus.talebpour@torontomu.ca)
  11. Lidya Nacy „Dependence of the Resolution on Scattering Coefficient, Thickness, Detector Size, and Step Size in Epithelium Tissue “, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2014-2015, (lidia.nacy@torontomu.ca)
  12. Jawad Hilaneh „Development of a library of spectrum for different substances obtained using Raman Spectroscopy “, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2014-2015, (jhilaneh@torontomu.ca)
  13. Charles Wilson „OpticStudio Modeling in the Design of an LED Solar Simulator “, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2014-2015, (charles.wilson@torontomu.ca)
  14. Kiron Gonidis „The development of a next-generation solar simulator using LED technology“, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2014-2015, (kiron.gonidis@torontomu.ca)
  15. Anthea Salinas „Assessment of polystyrene nano spheres during nanosphere lithography using a camera-filter coupling”, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2014-2015, (anthea.salinas@torontomu.ca)
  16. Deirdre Sequeira „Accurate measurement of collimated transmission“, 4th year project, Ryerson University 2013 – 2014, (deirdre.e.sequeira@torontomu.ca)
  17. Ermias Woldemichael „Investigation of Environmental Influence on Raman Scattering“, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2013 – 2014, (ewoldemi@torontomu.ca)
  18. Graham MacDonald „Monitoring of Vessel Density for Cancer Diagnostics“, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2013 – 2014, (graham.macdonald@torontomu.ca)
  19. Ruben Pinto „Development of remote sensing technology for critical health parameters“, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2013 – 2014, (ruben.pinto@torontomu.ca)
  20. Abdulkarim Muhaseen „Development of a smartphone application for blood analysis“, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2013 – 2014, (abdulkarim.muhaseen@torontomu.ca)
  21. Sami Boubertakh Discrete Light source for spectral imaging, 4th year project, Ryerson University, 2013-2014, (sami.boubertakh@torontomu.ca)