You are now in the main content area

Senate Priorities Committee (SPC)

Terms of Reference:

  • To take responsibility to formulate, in consultation with the Secretary, the agenda for each Senate meeting, together with supporting documentation;
  • To select, for at least two Senate meetings per year,  topics of importance and interest to the Ryerson community, and relevant to the responsibilities of Senate:
    • Such topics shall be open for discussion in Committee of the Whole for an extended period, not normally to exceed one hour;
    • The SPC shall notify Senate in advance of such topics and arrange for their presentation;
  • To bring to the attention of Senate, and to consult with Senior administration regarding, emergent issues facing the university and, when appropriate, to recommend to Senate the referral of such issues to a Standing Committee, or to recommend to Senate the creation of an ad hoc Committee to address such an issue, or to recommend some other course of action;
  • To establish a sub-committee, if desired either by Senate or the SPC, to examine and review the state of the University’s overall finances and priorities with respect to their impact on academic programs and activities in light of the Academic Plan, and to present to Senate its findings and recommendations;
  • To represent Senate in meetings with the Board of Governors (representatives) that may be agreed upon from time to time regarding matters of mutual concern; and to report back to Senate as appropriate on the nature of, and any outcomes from such meetings;
  • To explore the implications and sustainability of the creation of new Faculties and/or Departments/Schools, and to advise Senate accordingly; and,
  • To act on behalf of Senate, if needed, during the summer months, and to report to Senate at the first meeting of the following Session any actions taken on its behalf.


  • The President and Vice-Chancellor, who shall serve as Chair;
  • The Vice-Chair (who is the Vice-Chair of Senate);
  • The Provost and Vice-President, Academic;
  • The Deputy Provost and Vice-Provost, University Planning;
  • The Vice-Provost, Academic
  • One member elected by and from the Deans (including Chang, YSGS and Library);
  • Five members elected by and from the faculty Senators (in accordance with Article;
  • One undergraduate student Senator elected by and from all student Senators; and,
  • One graduate student Senator elected by and from all student Senators.
  • The Secretary of Senate (non-voting)