You are now in the main content area

Academic Organization

The provost and vice-president, academic is one of five vice-presidents who report directly to the president of Toronto Metropolitan University.

The provost is responsible for Toronto Metropolitan University’s academic growth and operations. People who report to the provost include the four vice-provosts and the deans and directors of the university’s faculties, schools, and academic support services and facilities.

There are five vice-provosts at Toronto Metropolitan University:

  1. Vice-Provost, Academic: Oversees experiential learning and academic integrity
  2. Vice-Provost, Faculty Affairs: Oversees all faculty tenure, promotion and hiring decisions
  3. Vice-Provost and Dean, Yeates School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (YSGPS): Responsible for the overall vision and leadership of graduate education
  4. Vice-Provost, Students: Supports student recruitment, retention, success and engagement
  5. Vice-Provost, University Planning: Oversees the University Planning Office (UPO), which provides planning and analysis functions for the university.

Deans oversee each faculty and help shape the academic vision and outcomes of the university.

The TMU Libraries play a vital role in the university’s academic life. Toronto Metropolitan University community members benefit from the Libraries' expertise, resources, materials, and services.

Through its traditional and digital resources, and ongoing commitment to innovation, the Libraries meet the needs of 21st-century students and researchers.

The Dean of Libraries oversees the Libraries.

Zone Learning is a new model of experiential learning built to prepare students for the 21st century workplace by providing opportunities for them to work on real projects, causes, companies or startups. 

Toronto Metropolitan University’s Senate is responsible for making academic policies for the university. Chaired by the university’s president, the Senate consists of 51 elected representatives and 23 ex-officio members of the administration, including the chancellor.