You are now in the main content area

Toronto Metropolitan University has a bi-cameral governance structure which means that there are two governing bodies working at the university, the Board of Governors and the Senate (opens in new window) . These two bodies are closely intertwined through the budget process, but remain quite separate from each other in terms of decision-making.

The Senate governs all academic matters. The Board of Governors is responsible for the governance of the university; control of its property and revenues; the conduct of its business and affairs, except for matters assigned by the Act to Senate; powers specifically enumerated by the  (PDF file) Toronto Metropolitan University Act and the  (PDF file) By-Laws of the University. The Board’s implied powers include institutional strategic planning, risk management, and financial management of the university.

The Board of Governors is comprised of 28 Board Members:

  • The President
  • The Chancellor
  • 11 external members
  • 11 elected members (staff, faculty, students and alumni)
  • 1 Honorary Board Elder
  • 3 Honorary Board members

The members of the Board come from diverse backgrounds. Whether elected or appointed, the members of the Board are not advocates for any one constituency. All decisions of the Board are made in the best interests of the University.

Board members are vested with the responsibility of ensuring that future generations inherit a university that continues to be a great centre of advancement and of applied knowledge and research which ultimately addresses societal need.