You are now in the main content area

Floyd Chalmers Prize for Excellence in Business Journalism

The Ticker Club dedicated this annual award to the memory of one of its founding members, Floyd Chalmers, former publisher and editor-in-chief of the Financial Post.  

This award celebrates the life and career of Floyd Chalmers and is presented by the Ticker Club. Chalmers became a reporter at the Toronto News when he was only 17. By the time he was 27, he was editor-in-chief of the Financial Post. He became president of Maclean Hunter, which published the Post and Maclean’s,  in 1952, and chairman in 1969. He and his wife Jean helped set up the Canadian Opera Company and the Stratford Festival, commissioned Harry Somers’ opera Louis Riel and set up the Floyd S. Chalmers Foundation in support of the arts.

Past Winners

2023 Kuwarjeet Arora
2022 Zaid Kaddoura
2021 Kayla Zhu
2020 Neil Jonatan 
2019 Adjani Ngako Toussom
2018 Megan Honan
2017 Robert Mackenzie
2016 Stefanie Phillips
2015 Sarah Cunningham-Scharf
2014 Cormac McGee
2013 Yasmin Jaswal