You are now in the main content area

Catherine Keachie Magazine Journalism Scholarship

About the award

For overall excellence in magazine skills, including demonstrated commitment to the crafts of editing and writing.

This scholarship was created by Catherine Keachie’s colleagues in recognition of her contribution to fostering a strong and vibrant magazine industry. She was a tireless advocate for Canadian magazines, and was at the centre of the struggle for a strong national cultural policy. She originated Ontario’s Trillium Book Award (the province’s first literary prize) and worked for the Canada Council, the National Film Board, the CBC, and publishers Black Rose Books and Lester & Orpen Dennys. At the time of her death, Keachie had been president of the Canadian Magazine Publishers’ Association for 10 years.

Past Winners

2023 Hyeji Yoon
2022 Kristyn Landry
2021 Vanessa Quon
2020 Catherine Abes
2019 Celina Gallardo
2018 Ben Waldman
2017 Karen McCall

Sydney Hamilton

Anda Zeng


Allison Elkin

Aimee O'Connor

2014 Luc Rinaldi
2013 Stephanie Maris