You are now in the main content area

Meet the 2021-22 Senate graduate student representatives

Two graduate student senators elected to represent graduate students and amplify academic needs

Aerial view of Ryerson campus.

As the academic authority, the TMU Senate is responsible for maintaining, communicating and implementing institutional policies of the university. Such policies include the content and quality of all programs and courses of study, the standards for admission to the university and the qualifications for obtaining degrees, diplomas and certificates.

Each year, 52 representatives of the university’s faculty, student and alumni and seven non-voting senate associates are elected to Senate. Senate membership includes:

  • Faculty senators
  • Undergraduate student senators
  • Graduate student senators
  • Alumni senators
  • Chang School associates
  • Part-time, sessional and continuing education contract lecturer (CUPE Local 3904 Units 1 and 2) associates
  • Indigenous associates

Two graduate student senators are elected by and from students enrolled in graduate programs at Toronto Metropolitan University to represent all graduate students within the Yeates School of Graduate Studies. Senate meetings are typically held on the first Tuesday of each month from October through June. 

Harsh Brahmbhatt, Ted Rogers MBA

Harsh Brahmbhatt, Ted Rogers MBA

As a graduate student senator, Harsh will sit on the Senate Priorities Committee (SPC) and Academic Governance and Policy Committee (AGPC) to improve policies related to academic conduct, research and policy amendment strategies. Graduate students are invited to connect with Harsh ( to provide suggestions on how he can represent the student voice on Senate or for any questions or concerns.

About Harsh

Harsh Brahmbhatt obtained a bachelor of commerce in law and business (minor in finance) from Toronto Metropolitan University and a business diploma from Centennial College. He is enrolled in the Ted Rogers MBA program and working in the public education sector. In March 2021, he received the university's MBA Leadership Award. In parallel, Harsh is highly involved in community work with a U.N.-affiliated international charity since January 2011, where he had the opportunity to serve individuals, families and communities in different capacities over the years. In addition to serving on Senate, he is vice-president, outreach and engagement at Ted Rogers MBA Women in Leadership Association. Harsh cares about fairness, inclusion and a level playing field for all. 

Claudia Idzik, Psychology MA

Claudia Idzik, Psychology MA

As a graduate student senator, Claudia represents all graduate students in every department on various academic issues. This includes curriculum changes, ownership of work in research or academic accommodations. Graduate student senators support graduate students and amplify any of their academic needs. Claudia is a student representative on the Scholarly Research and Creative Activity Committee (SRCAC), Senate Learning and Teaching Committee (SLTC) and Awards and Ceremonials Committee (AWCC). She also sits on various policy committees that review academic-related policy changes. Graduate students are invited to contact their representatives if they have any concerns. Claudia monitors the student senator email (, where students can reach out with any comments or concerns regarding these issues. 

About Claudia

Claudia Idzik is a second-year master of arts student in the Department of Psychology studying music cognition. Her personal research interests include music and emotion and how music can guide psychedelic therapy. Claudia has been involved in academic programming since her first year of undergraduate studies and is excited to continue this work into her graduate career.