You are now in the main content area

About the Office of the Vice-Provost, Faculty Affairs

Our mission and key role

The Office of the Vice-Provost, Faculty Affairs provides leadership in all areas of employee relations concerning the Toronto Metropolitan Faculty Association (TFA), CUPE 3904 Units 1, 2, and 3 (representing contract lecturers, continuing education contract lecturers, and teaching/graduate assistants).

Mandate 

The mandate of the Office of the Vice-Provost, Faculty Affairs is to enhance the academic mission of Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU) through programs and activities that support and guide academic staff in their relationship with students and the university community.

Responsibilities 

The OVPFA is responsible for the management and planning for faculty, contract lecturers and academic assistants in the areas of labour and employee relations, collective bargaining, development and renewal, control of faculty complement. All relevant procedures governing the appointment, compensation, promotion, transfer and departure of all faculty, contract lecturers, academic assistants and academic administrators.

Academic excellence 

The office plays a key role in furthering TMU’s academic excellence and initiates and oversees programs and activities that attract, retain and foster the professional development of faculty, contract lecturers and academic assistants throughout their careers.

Academic units and administrative groups we work with

10 faculties* and 

50 departments and schools


1,015 full-time faculty, 50 librarians and counsellors and 1,111 contract lecturers

4 bargaining units including the
TFA and CUPE Local 3904,
Units 1, 2 and 3

Our achievements in the 2022-2023 academic year

Awarded tenure to 38 faculty members and promoted 19 to the rank of professor

Hired 36 tenure-stream and 31 limited-term faculty members


Delivered 18 
workshops to more than 400 hiring, evaluation and promotion committee members

Facilitated 20 Let's Talk Series and 12 Chairs and Directors Series sessions

Hosted 2 orientations and retreats


*Faculties include the Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Community Services, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science, Lincoln Alexander School of Law, Faculty of Science, Ted Rogers School of Management, The Creative School, The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education, School of Medicine and Yeates School of Graduate Studies.