Google Chrome: "Your organization will manage this profile"
Why am I receiving this?
This pop-up appears when you sign in to your TMU Google Workspace account (Gmail, Drive, Calendar, etc.) using desktop Google Chrome browser version 102.x.xxx and using default or guest profile. This pop-up started to appear early June, 2022 when Google released the update for Chrome for desktop version 102.
"Chrome 102 brings better separation between personal and enterprise-managed data. When the user signs into a managed account, they will have the option to either keep existing browsing data separate, or merge it with the managed account. By default, the data is kept separate, so a new profile will be created. Or, if they choose, they can merge the existing profile into the managed account. This prevents inadvertent sharing of personal data with work accounts"
The pop-up tries to give you, as a user, a clear warning that you are using Google Chrome injunction with a Google account that is managed by TMU.
Please note that:
- Toronto Metropolitan University does not manage your Chrome usage in any way (you can see this by typing chrome://management in the address bar)
- Toronto Metropolitan University does not push any policy to your Chrome profile (you can see this by typing chrome://policy in the address bar)
- Toronto Metropolitan University does not manage any Chrome data (external link)
As TMU has turned off Chrome profile sync, it does not store, manage, or monitor any Chrome profile data. The information on the pop-up is misleading.
For any additional information, questions, or concerns, please contact CCS Help Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org.