You are now in the main content area

Chang School dean Gary Hepburn to leave TMU

Search process underway for dean, committee composition will be shared in the coming weeks
Category:From the Provost and Vice-President, Academic
January 25, 2024
Gary Hepburn

Gary Hepburn will be leaving Toronto Metropolitan University to pursue a new opportunity at Yorkville University’s New Brunswick campus. His final day at TMU will be April 2, 2024.

Gary joined TMU as dean of the G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education in January 2020. A PSE industry leader known for his leadership in responsive education and strategic management, Gary’s expertise and guidance have been essential to the Chang School’s continued success.

Arriving at TMU shortly before the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, Gary played a key role in providing strategic advice and direction in the university’s necessary pivot to online learning. As a member of the Keep Teaching Taskforce, Gary and other taskforce members established a mandate to support faculty and contract lecturers in creating alternative forms of course and exam delivery. 

To update the university’s response to the needs and preferences of career-focused adult learners, Gary oversaw the creation of the Curv Microcredentials program – short, skill-based certifications designed in partnership with industry experts – and postgraduate certificates developed for professionals seeking to enhance their expertise in emerging fields. 

I am grateful to Gary for his service and commitment to the Chang School and TMU. I wish him continued success in his new role.

A search committee for dean of The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education will be established in keeping with the university’s policy for the Appointment of Academic Administrators (AAA policy). The formation of the committee and the subsequent search will adhere to TMU’s policies and procedures and will reflect best practices on equity, diversity and inclusion, harassment prevention, and access.  

Members of the respective academic units who are eligible to nominate and vote for members of the search committee will receive further information regarding important dates and nominations directly from the Senate Office.

I look forward to sharing the composition of the search committee in the coming weeks.

Roberta Iannacito-Provenzano
Provost and Vice-President, Academic

More News