You are now in the main content area

Janet Yamada

Associate Professor
EducationBSc, BScN, MSc, RN, PhD
OfficeDCC-575-C, Daphne Cockwell Health Sciences Complex
Phone416-979-5000, ext. 556308
Areas of ExpertiseImplementation Science and behaviour change theories; Systematic reviews and meta-analysis; Symptom management in children (e.g., asthma, pain).

Dr. Yamada is an assistant professor at the Daphne Cockwell School of Nursing. She completed her PhD in Nursing Science at the University of Toronto and a post-doctoral fellowship in knowledge translation/implementation science methods at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute. Her research focuses on theory-informed strategies to improve health care professionals' practices. Areas of expertise include quantitative research methods including systematic reviews, and measurement of intervention fidelity.

Teaching responsibilities:

  • MN8901: Quantitative Research Methods: Design and Critical Appraisal
  • MN8902: Qualitative Research Methods: Design and Critical Appraisal
  • NUR 80A/B: Research Design, Measurement, Applications
  • NSE 21: Concepts: Individual and Family

Teaching interests:

  • Research Methods (quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods)
  • Systematic Reviews
  • Knowledge Translation

Research interests:

  • Health care professional behaviour change
  • Implementation science in pediatric health conditions
  • Symptom management
  • Systematic reviews and meta-analyses

External Funding:

  • Fox, M (PI), Cowan, J., Day, A.,  Dahlke, S.,  Durocher, E.,  Kastner, M., Macdonald, M.,  McFarlan, J.,  McNeil, D.. Nowrouzi-Kia, B.,Peel, A., Rydall, M., Sidani, S., Skinner, M., Yamada, J. Collaborating with healthcare providers to design an implementation plan for an evidence-based hospital-to-home transitional care intervention for older adults in rural communities. Funding Source: CIHR Transitions in Care (TiC)– Best and Wise Practices Operating Grant.  ($100,000)
  • 2018-2019: Ballantyne, M (PI)., Cohen, E., Church, P., Fehlings, D., McPherson, A., Sidani, S., Yamada, J. Engaging parents and providers in the selection of evidence-based interventions: Improving transition from neonatal to developmental/rehabilitation services. Catalyst Grant. Funding Source:  Bloorview Research Institute. ($10,000)
  • 2018-2020: Gupta, S (PI)., Foran, V., Goel, S., Hayes, A., Kaplan., A., Madeley, C., Sutherland, J., Boulet, L.P., Chignall, M., Licksai, C., Straus, S., Wilkinson, A.,  Yamada, J. A novel asthma eHealth application for self-management, improved health literacy, and shared decision making. Funding Source: CIHR Catalyst Grant: Personalized Health Catalyst Grants. ($197,559)
  • 2017-2022: Wong, J. P. (NPI), Fung, K., Li, A., Tsang, K.A., Vahabi, M. (Co-PI) Bosma, H., Liu, J., Hilario, C., Poon, M., Sin, R., Watt., L., Yamada, J. Linking Hearts: Advancing Mental Health Care of University Students Through Interdisciplinary Collaboration: An Implementation Research at Universities in Jinan, Shandong, China.    Funding Source: CIHR (GACD: Mental Health – CIHR-NSFC Canada-China Team Grant, $1,074,971) 
  • 2017-2019: Yamada, J. (PI), Gupta, S. (Co-PI), Straus, S., Goel, S., Kaplan, A., Boulet. L.P. A Theoretical approach to identifying the barriers and enablers to using an electronic asthma management system in primary care. Funding Source: Canadian Lung Association. The Lung Association Provincial Grant-in-Aid/National Grant Review competition. ($44,520)
  • 2016-2023: Stevens, B., (PI), Barwick, M., Chambers, C., Campbell-Yeo, M.,  Estabrooks, C., Gibbins, S., Harrison, D., Isaranuwatchai, W., Le May, S., Noel, M., Slotta, J., Stinson, J., Synnes, A., Willan, A., Yamada, J. Effective Knowledge translation strategies for enhancing impact and improving outcomes in infant pain. Funding Source: CIHR Foundation Scheme-2015 2nd Live Pilot Stage 2. ($3,823,346)
  • 2015-2016: Principal Investigator: Yamada J., Grimshaw J., Cave A., Johnson D. A Primary care pathway for managing paediatric asthma: Optimizing implementation strategies using a behaviour change approach (Post-doctoral research funded by Alberta Innovates Health Solutions and PRIHS: Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Health System: $40,000
  • 2013:-2018: Stevens B, Ballantyne M, Campbell-Yeo M, Estabrooks CA, Gibbins S, Harrison D, McNair C, Sidani S, Squires J, Synnes A, Taddio A, Widger K, Willan A, Yamada J. Sucrose Practices for Pain in Neonates (SPiN): A Program of Research. CIHR Operating grant: $947,340

Internal Funding:

  • 2019-2020  Yamada, J.(CoPI),  Gupta, S (CoPI). Barriers and enablers to objective testing for asthma and COPD in primary care. Funding Source: Ryerson Internal Health Research Fund Competition. Ryerson University.  ($6,924)
  • 2018-2019: Yamada, J. (PI).  Ballantyne, M. (Co-PI), Sidani, S. Engaging families in the selection of evidence-based interventions. Improving transition to developmental/rehabilitation services for parents of children born preterm and with a disability. Funding Source: Faculty of Community Services 2017 Seed Project Grant. Ryerson University. ($4,910)


  • Harrison, D., Anseloni, V., Yamada, J., & Bueno, M. Sucrose and Sweet Taste. In P. J. McGrath, B. J. Stevens, S. M. Walker & W. T. Zempsky (Eds.). Oxford Textbook of Paediatric Pain: Oxford University Press. In Press.
  • Yamada, J., & Hutchinson, A., Li, S.A. Theory-informed approaches to translating pain evidence into practice. In P. J. McGrath, B. J. Stevens, S. M. Walker & W. T. Zempsky (Eds.), Oxford Textbook of Paediatric Pain. Oxford, U.K.: Oxford University Press. In Press.

Journal articles

  • Dean’s Scholarly, Research and Creative Activity Award-FCS Pre-tenured Faculty, Ryerson University (2018)
  • Sigma Theta Tau International Lamba Pi-At-Large Chapter, Award of Merit for an Outstanding PhD Thesis, Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (2013)
  • Grace Evelyn Simpson Reeves Nursing Research Excellence Award, The Hospital for Sick Children (2013)
  • Doctoral Completion Grant, University of Toronto School of Graduate Studies (2009, 2010)
  • Fellowship, Canadian Institutes of Health Research (2008-2012)