You are now in the main content area
Headshot of Karyn S. Pugliese

Karyn Pugliese (Pabàmàdiz)

Visiting Journalist
Nieman Fellow, Harvard University 2020
Storytelling Workshop, Poynter Institute, 2016 and 2018
Senior Executive Performance, Team & Change Leadership Banff Program, 2015
Project Management, Lemmex Training & Consulting, 2008
Masters of Arts (History) Carleton University, 2005
Bachelor of Journalism & History Carleton University, Graduated with High Honours, 1998

Karyn, aka Pabàmàdiz, is the editor-in-chief of Canadaland and frequently visits CBC's Rosie Barton show as a guest panellist. She's best known for her work as a Parliament Hill reporter and as the Executive Director of News and Current Affairs at APTN (Aboriginal Peoples Television Network), where she ran the news department for seven years. She joined Toronto Metropolitan University's faculty in the Spring of 2020 while completing a Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University. Karyn has worked in daily news and long-form investigations at various other outlets, including ichannel, VisionTV, and CTV.

From 2018-2020, Karyn was the president of the Canadian Association of Journalists and still sits on the national board of directors. Karyn is a board member of Canadian Journalists for Free Expression. She worked as an expert trainer for Journalists for Human Rights in South Sudan in 2018.

Her journalism has been recognized by the Canadian Association of Journalists, the Canadian Screen Awards, the Native American Journalists Association and the Public Policy Forum. She holds degrees in Journalism and History.

Karyn is a citizen of the Pikwàkanagàn First Nation in Ontario, and is of mixed Algonquin and Italian descent. When she is not engaged in acts of journalism, you'll find her paddling a canoe, shooting photos and eating frybread.

  • Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship (2020)
  • Elias Boudinot Free Press Award (NAJA) (2019)
  • Hyman Solomon Award for Public Policy Journalism (2019)
  • Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism (2017)
  • CAJ Charles Bury Award (2016)
  • 3 Native American Journalism Awards (2003, 2005, 2006)
  • Press freedom
  • Politics and human rights
  • Indigenous Issues
  • Co-Chair Advocacy Committee, Canadian Association of Journalists
  • Past President, Canadian Association of Journalists
  • Board Member, Informed Opinions
  • Board Member; Canadian Journalists for Free Expression
  • Canadian Issues Committee, Canadian Journalists for Free Expression
  • Board Member ELMNT FM
  • Journalists for Human Rights Ambassador

Featured Work