

#### Memorandum

From:	Kelly MacKay, Vice-Provost Academic and Chair
	Senate Learning and Teaching Committee
То:	Members of Ryerson University Senate
Subject:	Report of the Senate Learning and Teaching Committee
Date:	May 15, 2021

I am pleased to provide this update to Senate highlighting the activities of the Senate Learning and Teaching Committee (SLTC) for the academic years 2019/20 and 2020/21. The role of the SLTC is to advise Senate on select university-wide issues through the lens of learning and teaching; to initiate, as required, activities that address specific issues; and to develop and make academic policy recommendations for the consideration of Senate.

The committee met a minimum of four times in each academic year. A major focus of the last two years has been to affect systemic change though input on key Senate policy revisions and new policy creation.

## **Policy Creation/Revision Input:**

- Policy 167: Academic Consideration Request
- Policy 169: Experiential Learning
- Policy 168: Appeals
- Policy 159: Academic Accommodation for Students with Disabilities

In addition, the expertise of the committee informed priority initiatives of the University that impact learning and teaching.

# **Consultations on Key Initiatives and Issues:**

- Student Mental Health and Well-Being: A Healthier Ryerson Community and Academic Experience Al MacDonald, Executive Director, Student Well-Being
- International Student Recruitment Glenn Craney, Deputy Provost, Vice-Provost University Planning
- Academic Integrity: Turnitin Evaluation John Paul Foxe, Director, Academic Integrity Office; Restiani Andriati, Manager, Digital Media Projects
- COVID-19 Teaching Continuity and Remote Teaching "past, present, future" Wendy Freeman, Executive Director, Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching; Kelly MacKay, Vice-Provost Academic
- Learning Spaces Upgrades and Standards Wendy Freeman, Executive Director, and Michelle Schwartz, Educational Developer, Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
- Anti-Black Racism Report and Recommendations Denise O'Neil Green, Vice-President, Equity and Community Inclusion

- First Year Experience Initiative Jen McMillen, Vice-Provost Students; Louise Cowin, Executive Director Athletics and Recreation
- Digital Strategy Brian Lesser, CIO; Carol Shepstone, Chief Librarian; Steven Liss, Vice-President Research and Innovation

Thank-you to the committee members who have served during this time for their active participation and contribution, in particular the students who have generously volunteered their time.

#### **Undergraduate Students**

Cheo Bannis Jacob Circo Fahim Khan

## **Graduate Students**

Katey Park Vanessa Provost Lesley Zanella

# **Continuing Education Student**

Shayna Slonim

# **Faculty and Staff**

Ann Rauhala, Faculty of Communication and Design Asmaa Malik, Yeates School of Graduate Studies Curtis Maloley, Aboriginal Education Council Cynthia Holmes, Ted Rogers School of Management Darrell Bowden, OVPECI Denise O'Neil Green, OVPECI Donna Bell, Senate Don Kinder, Library Heather Rollwagen, Faculty of Arts Jen McMillen, OVPS, Leonora Zefi, Chang School Linda Koechli, Chang School Lorena Escandon, Faculty of Communication and Design Marni Binder, Faculty of Community Services Medhat Shehata, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science Nancy Walton, Yeates School of Graduate Studies Richard Meldrum, Faculty of Community Services Sandra Tullio-Pow, Faculty of Communication and Design Tetyana Antimirova, Faculty of Science Wendy Freeman, Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching