

## Memorandum

From:	Kelly MacKay, Vice-Provost Academic and Chair
	Senate Learning and Teaching Committee
То:	Members of Ryerson University Senate
Subject:	Report of the Senate Learning and Teaching Committee
Date:	May 2, 2022

I am pleased to provide this update to Senate highlighting the activities of the Senate Learning and Teaching Committee (SLTC) for the academic year 2021/22. The role of the SLTC is to advise Senate on select university-wide issues through the lens of learning and teaching; to initiate, as required, activities that address specific issues; and to develop and make academic policy recommendations for the consideration of Senate.

The committee met four times this academic year. A major focus continues to be affecting systemic change though input on Senate policy revisions. This year there were two consultation sessions regarding **Policy 159 Academic Accommodation for Students with Disabilities** with respect to policy and procedure revisions. In particular, the SLTC provided policy input on EDI values and principles, and the importance of timeliness and inclusive learning environments. The SLTC also commented on the procedures regarding clarity, roles and responsibilities, and dispute resolution.

Another key undertaking of the SLTC was the striking of a sub-committee on **Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity** to consider current and future considerations and implications.

Amy Peng, Economics, Faculty of Arts Asher Ghaffar, Academic Integrity Office, Office of Vice Provost, Academic Clare Chua, Global Management Studies, Ted Rogers School of Management Claustre Bajona, Economics, Faculty of Arts Cynthia Holmes, Business Management, Ted Rogers School of Management Dorismel Diaz, Literature, Languages and Culture, Faculty of Arts Graham Hudson, Lincoln Alexander School of Law Jim Ghoshdastidar, Chemistry & Biology, Faculty of Science John Paul Foxe, Academic Integrity Office, Office of Vice Provost, Academic Kasha Visutkie, Academic Integrity Office, Office of Vice Provost, Academic Katharine O'Reilly, Philosophy, Faculty of Arts Leonora Zefi, The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education (Teaching Chair) Medhat Shehata, Civil Engineering, Engineering & Architectural Science Murtaza Haider, Real Estate Management, Ted Rogers School of Management Nadya Burton, Midwifery, Faculty of Community Services Reece Steinberg, Library (Teaching Chair) Sandra Tullio-Pow, Fashion, The Creative School Sibo Chen, School of Professional Communication, Creative School Tetyana Antimirova, Physics, Faculty of Science

Under the leadership of the Academic Integrity Office, the above sub-committee conducted a review and evaluation of several writing, numeracy, and homework tools available for use by students. The work of the sub-committee will inform best practices for the upcoming review of Policy 60 Academic Integrity, as well as, create resources to provide guidance and advice to students and faculty/instructors.

Lastly, in 2021/22 the expertise of the SLTC members informed priority initiatives of the University that impact learning and teaching via consultations and discussions on several key initiatives.

- Anti-Black Racism Implementation Committee Denise O'Neil Green, Vice-President, Equity and Community Inclusion
- Teaching and Learning Spaces Working group Wendy Freeman, Executive Director, and Michelle Schwartz, Educational Developer, Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
- Flexible Learning Opportunities Faculty and University Needs Wendy Freeman, Executive Director, Curtis Muloley, Karyn Olsen, Nada Savicevic, Teaching Development and eLearning, Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
- Experiential Learning Course Inventory Anita Abraham, Director Experiential Learning

Thank-you to the committee members who have served during this time for their active participation and contribution, in particular the students who have generously volunteered their time.

## **Undergraduate Students**

Hana Salih Makawi Andrew Smith **Graduate Student** Claudia Idzik **Continuing Education Student** Janet Rodriguez **Faculty and Staff representatives** Nancy Walton, Yeates School of Graduate Studies Curtis Maloley, Aboriginal Education Council Darrell Bowden & Denise O'Neil Green, Vice-President Equity and Community Inclusion Jen McMillen, Vice-Provost Students Reece Steinberg, Library Kathleen Kellett-Betsos & Amy Peng, Faculty of Arts Leonora Zefi, Chang School Sandra Tullio-Pow & John Shiga, The Creative School Medhat Shehata, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science Nadya Burton, Faculty of Community Services Tetyana Antimirova, Faculty of Science Graham Hudson, Lincoln Alexander School of Law Cynthia Holmes, Ted Rogers School of Management Wendy Freeman, Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching Donna Bell, Secretary of Senate Kelly MacKay, Vice-Provost Academic & Chair