Report of the Senate Scholarly, Research and Creative Activity Committee

October 6, 2009

1. The **Senate Scholarly, Research and Creative Activity Committee** (SRCAC) Committee recommends that the Senate adopt the attached policy on **SRC Integrity**.

The policy on SRC Integrity is a replacement for *Principles Governing SRC Conduct/ Misconduct* which was withdrawn due to extensive overlap with the RFA collective agreement. The new policy has been crafted in keeping with the requirements of the collective agreement and the requirements of the Tri-Council Memorandum of Understanding. This latter document sets out the broad terms and conditions under which universities must operate if they wish to receive funding from the federal research granting councils, specifically; the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).

The policy was presented to Senate at the May, 2009 meeting at which time there were suggestions and comments. After consultation with Senators, the policy was amended to incorporate an obligation for the University to communicate SRC conduct guidelines and to promote an understanding of research integrity issues. In addition, the obligation for research supervision was clarified (see section 2.9), and the issue of contributing to SRC misconduct reworded (see section 4.14).

MOTION 1: That Senate approve Policy 118: SRC Integrity, as presented, effective immediately.

2. The SRCAC has reviewed the attached proposal for the creation of the Ryerson University Law Centre, and on recommendation of the Vice President, Research and Innovation. This would be a University Centre, and as such would report to the VPRI. Based on Senate Policy 144, *Policy on Research Centres*, the SRCAC makes the following motion:

MOTION 2: That Senate approve the establishment of the Ryerson University Law Centre.

Respectfully Submitted,

Anastasios Venetsanopoulos, Chair, for the Committee

Alexandra Anderson, Angela Blake, Brian Cameron, Phillip Coppack, Wendy Cukier, Robert Dirstein, Alan Fung, Usha George, Abby Goodrum, Deep Jaiswal, Sri Krishnan, Beth McKay, Ana Pejovic-Milic, Diane Schulman, Charles Sule, Janice Waddell, Kernaghan Webb, Sharon Wong, Maurice Yeates