

## **BI-CAMERAL GOVERNANCE**

Like many universities, Toronto Metropolitan University (the "University") operates under a bi-cameral governance structure. This means that it has two governing bodies: the Board of Governors (the "Board") and the Senate. The mandate of each of these bodies is defined in the *Toronto Metropolitan University Act*. Each body is responsible for the issues within its area of exclusive jurisdiction and may not intrude into the responsibilities of the other. However, a full understanding of the University and its governance requires an appreciation of the powers of both the Board and the Senate.

## **Board of Governors**

As a simple guide, the University is a corporation composed of the members of the Board. The primary powers of the Board, as outlined in the *Toronto Metropolitan University Act*, are for the government, conduct, management and control of the University and its property, revenues, expenditures, business and affairs. This includes university-wide non-academic policy formulation, as well as oversight and decision-making related to financial and management matters.

There are twenty-four (24) members of the Board including the Chancellor, the President and Vice-Chancellor, nine (9) external members appointed by the Government of Ontario (Lieutenant Governor in Council), two (2) external members appointed by the Board, three (3) alumni members, three (3) faculty members, two (2) staff members, and three (3) student members. The normal term of office is three (3) years for public and alumni members, two (2) years for faculty and staff members, and one (1) year for student members. Except in the case of students, elections are on a staggered basis to provide some continuity from year to year. Board members are eligible for re-appointment or re-election as the case may be. The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board are elected by its members. The Board is supported by the Secretary of the Board, the Assistant Secretary of the Board, the Senior Legal Counsel and Governance Officer, the Director of Administration and Governance, the Governance Specialist, and the Administrative Coordinator.

Further details on the composition and Committees of the Board, related mandates, and specific powers assigned to the Board and its Committees are outlined in detail in both the *Toronto Metropolitan University Act* and *The By-Law No. 1 being the General By-Laws of* 

Toronto Metropolitan University. Additional information including past minutes, election policies and procedures, and Board and Committee dates and agenda are also available on the Board website at <a href="https://www.torontomu.ca/governors">www.torontomu.ca/governors</a>.

## Senate

Toronto Metropolitan University's Senate is responsible for maintaining, communicating, and implementing the University's policies related to academic matters. These include the content and quality of all programs and courses of study, the standards for admission to the University, and the qualifications for obtaining degrees, diplomas and certificates. Much of the Senate's work is done through its Standing Committees. These Committees include Academic Governance & Policy, Scholarly Research & Creative Activity, Senate Appeals, Academic Standards, Awards & Ceremonials, Learning and Teaching, and the Research Ethics Board. The Academic Standards Committee, for example, does a comprehensive review of all new program proposals, and is also responsible for the periodic review of existing programs, all of which are brought to the Senate for final approval; the Awards & Ceremonials Committee approves the awarding of all degrees, including Honorary Doctorates; and the Senate Appeals Committee considers students' final appeals of their grades, academic standing, and findings of academic misconduct.

Senate is composed of *ex-officio* members – the Chancellor, the President and Vice-Chancellor (who is the Chair of the Senate), Vice Presidents (including the Provost), Vice Provosts, Deans, Registrar, and Chief Librarian – as well as fifty-one (51) elected representatives of the University's faculty, students and alumni, and five (5) non-voting Senate Associates. Senate meetings are typically held on the first (1st) Tuesday of each month from October through June.

A more detailed description of the role and responsibilities of the Senate, its Bylaws, policies, committee compositions and terms of reference, minutes and agendas of meetings, and more, can be found on the Senate website at <a href="https://www.torontomu.ca/senate">www.torontomu.ca/senate</a>. The Senate is supported by the Secretary of the Senate, the Assistant to the Secretary, and the Senate Policy and Appeals Administrator.