You are now in the main content area


What is a minor?

A Minor is an opportunity for a student to explore a secondary area of undergraduate study either for personal interest beyond a student’s degree program, or as an area of specific expertise related to the student’s degree program that will serve the student’s career choice.

A Minor consists of six one-semester courses with a relationship based on discipline, theme and/or methodology, as determined by the program offering the Minor and approved by the Senate.

Alphabetical list of all minors in the Faculty of Arts

  • Accounting Minor
  • Acting/Dance Studies Minor
  • Biology Minor
  • Business Essentials Minor
  • Chemistry Minor
  • Child and Youth Services Minor
  • Criminology Minor
  • Curatorial Studies Minor
  • Disability Studies Minor
  • EBusiness Minor
  • Economics Minor
  • English Minor
  • Entrepreneurship and Innovation Minor
  • Environment and Urban Sustainability Minor
  • Ethics Minor
  • Family Supports and Community Practice Minor
  • Fashion Studies Minor
  • Film (Cinema) Studies Minor
  • Finance Minor
  • French Minor
  • Geographic Analysis Minor
  • Geography Minor
  • Global Management Minor
  • Global Narratives Minor
  • Global Politics and Development Minor
  • Health Services Management Minor
  • History Minor
  • Human Resources Management Minor
  • Information Technology Management Minor
  • Labour and Employment Relations Minor
  • Law Minor
  • Marketing Minor
  • Mathematics Minor
  • Music and Culture Minor
  • News Studies Minor
  • Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Management Minor
  • Occupational Health and Safety Minor
  • Organizational Leadership Minor
  • Philosophy Minor
  • Photography Studies Minor
  • Physics Minor
  • Politics Minor
  • Professional Communication Minor
  • Psychology Minor
  • Public Administration Minor
  • Public Relations Minor
  • Real Estate Management Minor
  • Retail and Services Management Minor
  • Sales Management and Service Quality Minor
  • Social Innovation Minor
  • Sociology Minor
  • Spanish Minor
  • Tourism Minor
  • Visual Studies Minor

Minors policy highlights

  1. Courses in a Minor have a coherence based on discipline, theme and/or methodology, as determined by the program offering the Minor.
  2. A Minor curriculum consists of six one-term, degree-level courses which may be core, open elective, and/or liberal studies.
  3. Course substitutions are not permitted.
  4. All students are eligible to pursue any Minor except those that are specifically excluded by their program department or by the Academic Standards Committee (ASC) of Senate. Exclusions may be applied when the subject area of the Minor is too closely related to the core studies of a program.
  5. Where it is possible, a student may take more than one Minor. However, an individual course may only be used to satisfy the requirements of one Minor.
  6. It is acknowledged that scheduling issues such as course availability may prevent individual students from being able to access all the courses in a specific minor in the same time frame as they are completing the requirements for their degree.
  7. Any course used to satisfy a requirement of a Minor cannot also be used to satisfy a requirement of a Concentration.
  8. The completion of a Minor may require the completion of courses additional to those in a student’s program. Additional fees may also be incurred.
  9. Students must complete all courses in a Minor prior to graduation from their program of studies.
  10. No Minor may be claimed twice.
  11. Completion of a Minor is noted on the academic transcript, but not on the award document.